#### REGULAR MEETING OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

#### February 25, 2019

A regular meeting of the members of the Board of Trustees of Fairfield Electric Cooperative, Inc., was held on Monday, February 25, 2019, at 12:30 p.m. at the Cooperative headquarters in Blythewood, South Carolina. The following trustees were present.

Mitchell D. Rabon John E. Roberts Timothy L. Hopkins John A. Bloodworth, Jr. Robert K. Miles Allen L. Beer Donald K. Lewis Joseph E. Sharpe Robert Entzminger

Peggy B. Jeffcoat William C. Good

Attorney Ken DuBose was present.

President Mitchell Rabon called the meeting to order and the invocation was given by Robert Entzminger.

Kevin Shull, Vice President of Operations, provided information and gave a presentation on procurement and purchasing procedures now in place to ensure the cooperative receives quality products at the best cost.

Upon motion made by John Roberts, seconded by Tim Hopkins, motion carried, the minutes of the meeting held on January 28, 2019, were approved as presented.

Upon motion made by Tim Hopkins, seconded by Robert Entzminger, motion carried, the 177 new consumers for the month of January were accepted as members of Fairfield Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Vicky H. Melvin, Controller, presented and discussed the financial and statistical reports for the month of January 2019 and provided information indicating the warmer than normal weather had decreased load factor, energy sales, power costs, and revenue for the month of January.

Bruce Bacon reported four new security systems and a Caregard unit were sold and two systems were converted from other companies in the last month adding seven monitored accounts.

Bruce Bacon reminded board members the Nominating Committee will meet at 11:00 a.m. on Monday, March 18th.

Bruce Bacon reported the Member Advisory and the Credentials & Election Committees will meet on Thursday, April 25<sup>th</sup>.

Bruce Bacon reported board members for Fairfield Electric Trust Corporation for Operation Round Up will need to be appointed at the April meeting. Mark Chapman from District 1 and John Entzminger from District 3 are eligible for a second term. David Fuller from District 2 is not eligible to serve another term after having served two consecutive terms.

Policy Bulletin # 29, Conflicts of Interest, along with a Certification & Disclosure Form were distributed to each board member and discussed. The certification and disclosure form was completed and signed by each board member.

Bruce Bacon reported the Strategic Plan is complete and steps underway to implement the plan.

Bruce Bacon reported the time had been changed to 5:00 to 8:00 p.m. for the Legislative Appreciation Reception on February 26.

Bruce Bacon and Attorney Ken DuBose discussed the upcoming meetings for the Nominating Committee, the Credentials & Election Committee, and annual meeting preparations. These items will be placed on the agenda for the March board meeting for further consideration and approval.

#### REGULAR MEETING OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD CONTINUED

#### February 25, 2019

Bruce Bacon provided updates on proposed legislation regarding cooperative governance, and the "Test the Market" results for the sale of Santee Cooper.

Bruce Bacon reported on the recent cyber security assessment and provided an update on SCE&G territorial exchanges with the cooperative.

Bruce Bacon reported the cooperative will pay an existing 457-B Plan to William Hart in March and the 12-31-18 value was \$15,666.75. The payment amount will vary due to the fund value on the transaction date the fund is closed.

A list of delinquent accounts totaling \$6,015.99 for the month of January 2019 was presented for consideration for write off as uncollectible. Upon motion made by Keith Lewis, seconded by Kenny Miles, motion carried, authorization was granted to write these off against the cooperative's reserve for uncollectible accounts.

The Member Advisory Committee members were reviewed. Upon motion made by John Roberts, seconded by Keith Lewis, motion carried, the committee was appointed for 2019 (copy attached).

Appointments to the Credential and Election Committee were reviewed and discussed. Upon motion made by Tim Hopkins, seconded by Keith Lewis, motion carried, the following members were appointed for 2019: James L. Jackson, Jr., Willie Belton, King David Murphy, June Blume, William A. Weathersbee, George Harris, Irene Mattox, Tommy Raines, John Trapp, Heyward Mattox, Neysa Rimer, Hennies Pope, Randy Frick, Wilbure Savage, Cathy Washington, Al Bozard, Sheila Bracey, Ben Connell, and Francis Jane Wright.

In conjunction with the development of the cooperative's Strategic Plan, upon motion made by John Bloodworth, seconded by John Roberts, motion carried, the following resolution was adopted:

# RESOLUTION ADOPTING MISSION & VISION STATEMENTS, GOALS, VALUES, AND COOPERATIVE PRINCIPALS

**WHEREAS**, Fairfield Electric Cooperative, Inc., has prepared a Strategic Plan in consultation with the Member Advisory Committee, cooperative industrial customers, the Board of Trustees, management staff, and departmental employees;

**NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, the Board of Trustees of Fairfield Electric Cooperative, Inc., hereby adopts the mission and vision statements, goals, values, and the cooperative principles.

#### **Mission Statement**

Provide our members quality energy services at a fair and reasonable price

#### **Vision Statement**

A unified team dedicated to enhancing the lives of our members with safe, reliable and innovative services

#### <u>Goals</u>

Safety
Reliable Service
Financial Stability
Member Satisfaction
Quality Team

#### REGULAR MEETING OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD CONTINUED

#### February 25, 2019

#### (Strategic Plan Resolution Continued)

#### **Values**

Honesty Cooperation
Integrity Teamwork
Competence Respect
Communication Creativity
Achievement Perseverance

#### **Cooperative Principles**

Voluntary and Open Membership
Democratic Member Control
Member Economic Participation
Autonomy and Independence
Education, Training, and Information
Cooperation among Cooperatives
Concern for Community

An overhead construction contract # 0119X in the amount of \$775,000.00 with Lee Electric for various construction projects was presented and discussed. Upon motion made by Keith Lewis, seconded by Joe Sharpe, motion carried, the contract was approved and the President and Secretary were authorized to execute it on behalf of the cooperative.

Trustees and voting delegates for CFC for 2019 were presented for consideration. Upon motion made by Joe Sharpe, seconded by Tim Hopkins, motion carried, Bruce Bacon and Mitch Rabon were appointed trustees with Bruce Bacon being the voting delegate and Mitch Rabon being the alternate.

John Bloodworth reported on the recent Benefit Committee Meeting and advised the committee will meet again on March 1, 2019.

John Roberts gave the Trustee Association report and advised Tri-County Electric Cooperative is now a member of that association.

Under old business, it was reported two members previously appointed to the Nominating Committee were not able to serve. After discussion and upon motion made by John Roberts, seconded by John Bloodworth, motion carried, Kenneth Mullis and Thomas H. Martin were appointed to the Nominating Committee which now consists of:

#### **2019 NOMINATING COMMITTEE**

Appointed by Board of Trustees January 28, 2019 Revised February 25, 2019

Lonnie M. Campbell
Kenny Mullis
Charles Davis
Cathi Gladden
Keith McDonald
Thomas H. Martin
King David Murphy
Carlton Payne
Neysa Rimer
Randolph Frick
Brad Douglas

## REGULAR MEETING OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD CONTINUED

### February 25, 2019

There was no new business to come before the board.

There being no further business to come before the Board, upon motion made, seconded, and carried, the meeting was adjourned.

		Signed:	
		<i>-</i>	Peggy B. Jeffcoat, Secretary
ATTEST:	Mitchell D. Rabon, President	_	