sc co-op news



www.fairfield.coop

MAILING ADDRESS P.O. Box 2500 Blythewood, SC 29016

BLYTHEWOOD OFFICE 701 Blythewood Road Blythewood, SC 29016

WINNSBORO OFFICE 3129 U.S. Hwy. 321 North Winnsboro, SC 29180

OFFICE HOURS 8 a.m.–5 p.m. Monday through Friday

CUSTOMER SERVICE

Toll Free: (800) 628-0336 Blythewood: (803) 754-0153 Winnsboro: (803) 635-4621 Camden and Lugoff: (803) 425-1059

POWER OUTAGE REPORTING ONLY (800) 499-7862

Outages are handled by an automated outage reporting system. Please follow instructions. The system will automatically report the outage and a crew will be dispatched.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mitchell D. Rabon, President, District 3 Robert Entzminger, Vice President, District At Large Robert Kenneth Miles, Secretary, District 6 John E. Roberts, III, Treasurer, District 7 Cynthia Able, District 2 William M. Good, District 8 Bruce Honeycutt, District 9 Timothy L. Hopkins, District At Large Keith Lewis, District 1 Derial L. Ogburn, District 5 Peggy D. Swearingen, District 4





Groundbreaking for new office

I AM PLEASED TO INFORM you that we recently held a groundbreaking ceremony for our new Winnsboro

office and construction will begin soon. The old office building had several issues related to the flat roof design and needed repair. The board of trustees looked at several options, which included a major renovation of the existing building. Due to the age and expense of a major renovation, the board made the decision to build a new office at the current site.

Great Southern Homes will construct

the 5,000-square-foot state-of-the-art facility, which should be operational by the summer of 2023. A temporary office was put in place and the old office was demolished.

I feel confident that the board made the most cost-effective decision for the membership. The new facility will serve our members for decades to come. We look forward to the completion of this facility as we move forward serving you, our members.

BRUCE G. BACON Chief Executive Officer



Participating in the groundbreaking ceremony were (from left) members of the Board of Trustees Derial Ogburn, Keith Lewis, Peggy Swearingen, Tim Hopkins, Cynthia Able, Robert Entzminger, Johnny Roberts, Mitch Rabon, Kenny Miles and Mike Good, cooperative attorney Ken Dubose, Great Southern Homes representatives Ned Purcell and Kevin House and Fairfield Electric CEO Bruce Bacon.

Nominate a local hero

IF YOU ARE INSPIRED by someone making a difference in our community, the #WhoPowersYou contest is your chance to honor them and tell their stories. Nominees must either be a cooperative member, live in a residence served by the electric cooperative or be making a positive impact in a community served by the cooperative. Fairfield Electric will choose a local winner, who will then have a chance at being named the 2022 South Carolina #WhoPowersYou Hero and receive a \$2,500 grand prize.

You can nominate a local hero by visiting **ecsc.org/WhoPowersYou**. All entries must be submitted by July 31.

Fairfield Electric hosts successful annual meeting

FAIRFIELD ELECTRIC Cooperative registered 3,881 members during the 2022 annual meeting. For the third year in a row, the meeting was held over five days with drive-thru registration and voting.

With the bylaw changes members approved last year, this was the first year single member voting districts were in effect. Members only vote for the trustee in their district and all members vote for the District At Large. Members re-elected Keith Lewis (District 1), re-elected Cynthia Able (District 2), re-elected Mitch Rabon (District 3), elected Bruce Honeycutt (District 9) and re-elected Tim Hopkins (District At Large) to the Board of Trustees.

In his remarks, CEO Bruce Bacon thanked members for their participation and commended the employees for their commitment. "On behalf of all our employees, I want to tell you that we are proud to be your power provider. As a memberowned electric utility, Fairfield Electric Cooperative's mission is to provide our members with quality energy services, at a fair and reasonable price. Your employees are committed to that mission," Bacon said.

The week came to a close with the business meeting, which was livestreamed. The meeting concluded with the prize drawings. Reginald Strother of Columbia won the grand prize, a 2012 Chevrolet Silverado. Queen Lewis of Blythewood was the lucky winner of the 42-inch Husqvarna riding lawn mower. Rounding out the top-three prize winners was Erick Brown of Lugoff, who received a \$500 credit on his electric bill.



Fairfield Electric CEO Bruce Bacon presented Reginald Strother and his wife, Tolosky, of Columbia the keys to the annual meeting grand prize, a 2012 Chevrolet Silverado.



FEC employee Mark Howard gifts member McKinley Williams of Blythewood the cast iron skillet during registration.



Joann Givens of Blythewood and her dog DJ got in on the fun at the annual meeting.



Matthew Graham, the son of John Graham of Blythewood, was all smiles during our 83rd annual meeting of members.



Queen Lewis of Blythewood won the second prize, a Husqvarna riding lawn mower.



David Sealy of Chester was the first member to register for the meeting.